XS Debate Team Bags Championship and other Awards at the UP Diliman Fast Forward Debate Competition

by Mr. Paolo Suapengco, HS Eng, XS HS Webpage Editor; details provided by Matthew Araneta (incoming senior)
photo provided by Ms. Julie Sy

On April 25-27, the UP Diliman Debate Society held a debate tournament called Fast Forward at the UP School of Economics.

Fast Forward is a debate camp and competition that invites neophyte and veteran debaters from various schools to showcase their verbal prowess. The tournament started off with a one-day orientation and lecture program, followed by two intense days of full-blown competitions.

The grand champions of this distinguished competition are Xavier School’s very own Jefferson Jo (outgoing senior), and Matthew Araneta (incoming senior). Matthew also won the finals best speaker award.

Alphonso Tan and Steven Sy, both incoming sophomores, won the junior grand championship, with Steven winning the finals best speaker.

Harry Paragas, incoming sophomore, and Jacob Wee, incoming junior, were the open quarter finalists.

Through sharp minds and sheer skill in discourse, our Xavier Debate Team has truly made the school proud.

Congratulations, XS Debate Team! May your light continue to shine brighter!

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel through social media. .
How does this post make you feel?
  • Appreciative
  • Excited
  • Happy
  • Inspired
  • Curious
  • Concerned

Short URL:

Be updated:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: